Diversity Scholarships

History of the Scholarship

How It All Started

In 2004, the Co-operative Housing Federation of Toronto (CHFT) launched the CHFT Diversity Scholarship Program.

The program is for people living in CHFT member housing co-ops. An important element of the scholarship is the strong commitment to diversity shown by the applicants in their communities. Students are awarded their scholarships largely based on their community involvement in their schools, co-op communities and in a variety of community based organizations. To date people from over 80 co-ops have won scholarships.

Randy Padmore

Dexter Johnston

The Atkinson Revolution

In partnership with CHF Canada, scholarships are awarded in the Golden Horseshoe Co-operative Housing Federation, the Co-operative Housing Federation of British Columbia, Central Ontario Co-operative Housing Federation and in Manitoba, Southwestern Ontario, Manitoba and Nova Scotia.

The following colleges and universities provide additional funding of up to $3,000.

  • George Brown College
  • Seneca College
  • Humber College
  • University of Toronto
  • OCAD University
  • Western University
  • Ryerson University
  • York University

To date, over one million dollars has been awarded to over 260 CHFT Diversity Scholarship recipients who have attended 22 colleges and universities. The CHFT Charitable Fund enables us to fund raise through our annual scholarship event which attracts over 500 people.

The scholarship is made possible by donations from over 60 companies, organizations and individuals. The 2016 CHFT Diversity Scholarship Event was held on Wednesday, June 29, at 7:00 p.m. at the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts. The 2017 scholarship application will be available in the Fall of 2016.

Now Available!

2018 Diversity Scholarship

The application form will be available in the fall

Our Sponsors

  • Alterna Savings
  • B.O.L.T.
  • CHF Canada
  • The Co-operators
  • Homestarts
  • LoyaltyOne
  • Ontario Property Management Group
  • Rogers Communications
  • CMS Building Consultants
  • Coinamatic
  • Community First Developments Inc.
  • David Miller
  • Dulux Paints
  • EnerStream Agency Services
  • Homestarts
  • Iler Campbell
  • LoyaltyOne
  • Precision Property Management
  • Prentice Yates & Clark
  • Sherwin Williams
  • The Daniels Corporation
  • Intelligarde
  • Toronto Atmospheric Fund
  • George Brown College
  • Humber College
  • Ontario College of Art and Design
  • Ryerson University
  • Seneca College
  • University of Toronto
  • Western University
  • York University
  • Costa Construction
  • Dome Carpet
  • Karimjee Resolutions Inc.
  • Lewis & Collyer
  • VH Specializaed Woodworking
  • Atkinson Housing Co-operative
  • Bamburgh Circle Housing Co-operative
  • Church-Isabella Residents’ Co-operative
  • Diane Frankling Co-operative
  • Mimico Co-operative Homes
  • Ramer’s Wood Co-operative Homes
  • Pioneer Co-operative Homes
  • Rougemount Co-operative Homes
  • Stanley Knowles Housing Co-operative
  • Tamil Co-operative Homes
  • Windmill Line Co-operative Homes